Hockey Playoffs!!!

I finally have something exciting to talk about! The 2009-2010 NHL playoffs are here! And the Penguins are in it! They are against the Ottowa Senators in round one. The bracket looks like this…

  Conference Quarter-finals   Conference Semi-finals   Conference Finals   Stanley Cup Final
                                     
  1  Washington Capitals          Capitals/Canadiens    
  8  Montreal Canadiens         Devils/Flyers     
 
  2  New Jersey Devils     Eastern Conference
 
  7  Philadelphia Flyers    
         Winner of 1st sem-final game    
   
       Winner of 2nd semi-final game    
  3  Buffalo Sabres    
 
  6  Boston Bruins    
 
   
 
  4  Pittsburgh Penguins        Sabres/Bruins  
 
  5  Ottawa Senators          Penguins/Senators     
         Winner of Eastern Final  
    (Pairings are re-seeded after the first round)  
       Winner of Western Final  
  1  San Jose Sharks          Sharks/Avalanche  
 
  8  Colorado Avalanche          Blackhawks/Predators    
 
 
  2  Chicago Blackhawks  
 
  7  Nashville Predators    
         Winner of 1st semi-final game  
   
       Winner of 2nd semi-final game    
  3  Vancouver Canucks    
 
  6  Los Angeles Kings       Western Conference
 
 
  4  Phoenix Coyotes       Canucks/Kings  
 
  5  Detroit Red Wings          Coyotes/Red Wings    

Well, that is what the playoffs look like right now. I think that this is going to be a really tough year to be a champ. Except for the Capitals. I don’t think they are going to have as hard as a time as the Kings or Devils. But I think it will still be tight with the Devils, Sabres, and Penguins all staring at them and the Stanley Cup. Here is who I think is going to win the games…

THE EASTERN CONFERENCE

VS.

For the first game, the Capitals (#1) are up against the Montreal Canadiens (#8). It is going to be a wild ride for the Canadiens but I think the ride the Caps are taking is going to be farely smooth. I think that the Capitals are going to win the first game 4-2. I think that the Caps are just too good at scoring goals and their goalies are too good to let goals in. The next one will be 2-1 Capitals. I think the Canadiens are going to bounce back just enough from letting the Caps win 4-0 or something. But they are still going to lose. Then the Canadiens are going to win 3-2 in a shoot-out. The Capitals are still in a postition to win easily, but they are not going to sweep it. Then the Capitals win 3-1. The Caps are then going to win the last game to make it 4-1 for the Caps.

VS.

Then, the Devils (#2) are going to face off against the Flyers (#7). I think this one is going to come down to the wire. It’s a tough choice, but I think that the Devils are going to barely win the series. The games are all going to be close and they could all go into overtime. I think this will be one of the best series in the playoffs. I have no predictions on the score. I have no idea what they would be.

 VS.

The Boston Bruins (#6) and Buffalo Sabres (#3) are also facing off in round 1 of the playoffs. I don’t know these teams very well. So I’m just going to guess that the Sabres will win. I saw about 6 minutes of one of their games and then I got bored because they were winning so badly.

 VS.

The Penguins (#4) and Senators (#5) face-off against each other in round one of the playoffs. The Penguins are a very tough team and tough to beat. I think that this series is going to go 4-2 to the Penguins. I think that the Senators might win their 2 games towards the beggining and then just break down. I think that the first game is going to go to the Penguins 3-2 in OT. Then I think the Senators will win the next 2 games, the first one 2-1 and the second one 4-2. Then the Pens will win the next 3 games and take the series.

THE WESTERN CONFERENCE

 VS.

The Sharks (#1) and Avalanche (#8) will have a short battle in my opinion. I think that San Jose could take this one 4-0. I don’t think that the Avalanche have what it takes to beat the Sharks. The Avalanche might win one game, but that’s it!

 VS.

The Chigago Blackhawks (#2) and Nashville Predators (#7) will have a long battle. I think this will be a very tense series. The Blackhawks might take a two game lead but if they do, I think that the Predators will come right back. But no matter what, I think with all the talented players they have, the Blackhawks are going to win it. The Predators do not have as many REALLY talented players as the Blackhawks. This series belongs to Chigago.

 VS.

Again, I don’t really know these teams. All I know is that the Canucks (#3) are in the 3 seat and the Kings (#6) are in the 6 seat. I am just going to say that the Kings win. Since I don’t know anyone on the teams (At least I think I don’t) I just went with the underdog. I have no idea who is going to win this series.

 VS.

I think the Detriot Red Wings (#5) will win this one and move on to the next series I think that the Red Wings are going to win this series 4-2 and I think that when the Coyotes (#4) do win, it’s going to be in overtime. I really don’t know what the scores will be. Maybe 3-2, 3-1 Red Wings. And then when the Coyotes win, I think that they are going to win about 5-4. Because the Red Wings are going to score a lot and if Phoenix doesn’t score a lot, then it’s game over for them.

I hope you enjoyed my predictions. I am not going to go past this round. I am going to save that for later! This is what I think the playoffs will look like going into the Semi-Final games!

  Conference Quarter-finals   Conference Semi-finals   Conference Finals   Stanley Cup Final
                                     
  1  Washington Capitals        Capitals    
  8  Montreal Canadiens       Devils     
 
  2  New Jersey Devils  4   Eastern Conference
 
  7  Philadelphia Flyers  3   
         Winner of 1st sem-final game    
   
       Winner of 2nd semi-final game    
  3  Buffalo Sabres  
 
  6  Boston Bruins  
 
   
 
  4  Pittsburgh Penguins      Sabres  
 
  5  Ottawa Senators        Penguins     
         Winner of Eastern Final  
    (Pairings are re-seeded after the first round)  
       Winner of Western Final  
  1  San Jose Sharks        Sharks  
 
  8  Colorado Avalanche        Blackhawks    
 
 
  2  Chicago Blackhawks
 
  7  Nashville Predators  
         Winner of 1st semi-final game  
   
       Winner of 2nd semi-final game    
  3  Vancouver Canucks  3  
 
  6  Los Angeles Kings     Western Conference
 
 
  4  Phoenix Coyotes  2     Kings  
 
  5  Detroit Red Wings  4        Red Wings    

Please Comment!

Leave a Reply

