United Nations Get Involved in Libya

As you probably have heard, Libya is becoming a big news story, and I don’t think a lot of people are getting what is going on over there. And birdbrain77, I am not just referring to you! But, I still don’t think you completely get it either, so, this is my understanding of it…

(Map from www.english.globalarabnetwork.com)

So, Egypt basically started a let’s-protest-and-get-our-leader-out-of-office-because-we-don’t-like-him fest. In Egypt, that worked. Over in Libya though, which is right next to Egypt, this hasn’t gone over so well. The people want Gadhafi out of office, but he doesn’t want to get out of office. So, then a bunch of different events happen and then the United Nations start to get involved! From what I have heard, the reason we are getting involved is because the PEOPLE want their leader out. So, if the people don’t like their leader, then they should get a new one, right! But, the leader doesn’t want to get out, thus a thirst for power, so that gives the U.S. and the rest of the Allies a reason to get involved.

So, we are essentially siding with the people, because we are a nation that listens to the people of our country… correct? So, we should also be helping the people of other countries get their way, unless THEIR WAY is not something that we agree with. But, in this case, I guess we agree.

In a post that birdbrain77 did on his blog, I gathered that he was saying that we are basically going in and sort of telling Libya how to run their country. Please tell me if that is wrong though, birdbrain77! But, even if he wasn’t saying this, I think it is wrong. We aren’t telling them how to run their country. We are telling Libya’s leader, “If the people don’t think you’re running the country well, we will side with them and tell you to get out!”

Because I don’t think we are fighting against Libya! If we were fighting against Libya, we would be fighting against the people! Instead, we are fighting against Libya’s government. I don’t picture a country as the country’s government. I think that the country is the people. So, we are essentially fighting with Libya in my mind! Not against it. Instead, we are fighting against a party of people that want to be leaders of Libya. I mean, they really are, it is just that the people don’t want them to be.

The funny thing is, I was watching a show called The Greatest Tank Battles on the Military Channel, and they were talking about when the U.S. sent in some tanks to drive out the Iraqi military in 1991, because they had driven into… I forget what country. But, this is sort of the same thing. I am not totally sure what was exactly happening at that time, but the thing that is the same with this, is that the U.S. is trying to do what seems right, we are trying to prevent wars and casualties, and we are trying to keep everything quiet and peaceful! Let the people have what they want! Because, they do live there after all.

But, some people might say, “Still, It’s Libya’s problems! If it gets to be a bigger threat to the United Nations, then we can get involved!” Well, think about Hitler and the Germans during WWII. This could almost (the odds are pretty small though) turn into a THIRD WORLD WAR! Now, I am not saying it will. Like I said in the parentheses in the last sentence, the chances of that are pretty small. I am actually going to say this is not going to do that. So, I would have no worry over that. I bet this will be just like when the U.S. drove Iraq out of, I think it might have been Iran.

So, to bring it all together:

  • The people want Gadhafi out of office, and Gadhafi said, “No.” So, the United Nations are going with what they believe is right and siding with the people.
  • We aren’t telling Libya how to run their government. We are just trying to get the leaders of Libya, which are not wanted in that country, to get out of office. Because, the people don’t like him, and it is their country, so they should choose who is in and out.
  • I don’t think we are fighting against Libya, we are fighting against Libya’s government.
  • This is probably not going to turn into a third world war. This will probably be minor thing for a while.

That is my view on how things are going on with Libya and the United Nations.

I just thought of another thing: The type of government that the country has is a big part in this event. If their government is like ours, then I don’t think anything that I said above is any different. But, if it is something like a monarchy, where the leader is in office for a life time, then I think that some things are different from what I said above. From what I know of these types of governments, I don’t think the people have as much say, because it usually just passes down in the family, right? So, I don’t know about that. But, I think Libya is sort of like the U.S government. So, I would think that everything I said above would be the same.

Well, those are my views on this event and I hope you will chime in as well and comment on my opinions!

Talk Later!

-mscunited0950

9 thoughts on “United Nations Get Involved in Libya

  1. This post is a bit contradictory. First you say:

    “In a post that birdbrain77 did on his blog, I gathered that he was saying that we are basically going in and sort of telling Libya how to run their country. Please tell me if that is wrong though, birdbrain77! But, even if he wasn’t saying this, I think it is wrong. We aren’t telling them how to run their country. We are telling Libya’s leader, “If the people don’t think you’re running the country well, we will side with them and tell you to get out!””

    Later, however, you say:

    “We aren’t telling Libya how to run their government. We are just trying to get the leaders of Libya, which are not wanted in that country, to get out of office. Because, the people don’t like him, and it is their country, so they should choose who is in and out.”

    What you just said is essentially, “We are not telling Libya how to run their country, we’re just telling them they need a democracy.” Democracy is a way to run a country. I would watch things like this if I were you.

    The Libyan government has the right to have a dictator. He also has every right to do things that the people do not like. Barack Obama does a lot of things, the majority of which I don’t like. But since he is the president, he is allowed to do that. It’s the same thing in other places.

    However much I don’t like the democracy system, it’s good. But we, as a country, have no right to attack the dictators of the world and crusade for democracy.

    • Ok, I guess I didn’t word it that great. Sure, if the people are OK with a dictator, then the country should have a dictator! But, if the people don’t, well… I think the leader should listen.

      And to the other comment, they are trying to make Libya fear the US and make them turn to a diplomatic solution. THat is what I heard.

      • I think you could argue either way for this, to be honest. Their government is being oppressive, and we can help the people rebel. But I don’t like the idea of getting involved in civil wars in other countries.

      • But, if you think about it, this guy seems to want power. And we tend to not like that for 2 reasons.

        1. That tends to cause wars
        2. We don’t like other people to gain or have greater power than us, so we have a hunger for power! But, we are sort of controlling it… I guess you could say that.

      • birdbrain77 says:

        Well, Gadhafia wants power. But let’s face it: So does Barack Obama. So do all other leaders in the world. Every leader, and every person, wants power. And we, the United States, as you already said, want power over the rest of the world. How could we say that Gadhafia is being oppressive and power-hungry when our country is slowly becoming less free and is trying to run the world? I don’t like it but that’s just me.

      • I agree with you that everyone wants power. But, they are not taking action as much as Gadhafi is. I don’t think that they want power as much as Gadhafi too.

  2. And I don’t understand how we can bring peace with cruise missiles. The most peaceful thing is to put away the cruise missiles and let it figure itself out. Eventually, the government will get fixed or the people would give up, and we would not be in the hideous beginning of WWIII that we are right now.

Leave a Reply

